The UCSF Department of Radiation Oncology is among the nation's foremost cancer treatment centers for patients who receive radiation therapy.


an image

The early history of the department of Radiation Oncology was marked by major key events and influences the department to this day.

Facts & Figures 2014 - 2015


Faculty & Staff FTE

Physicians 19
Physicists 12
Neuropsychologist 1
Radiobiologists 2


Director & Managers 9
Dosimetrists 7
Therapists 27
Physicists/Asst. Physicist 6
Nurses/Nurse Practitioners 11
Engineers & IT Personnel 6
Clinic Support Personnel 26
Academic Support Personnel 6
Research Personnel 14


Medical Residents 13
Physics Residents 4
Therapy Students 3
Post-Docs & Grad. Students 7


Treatment Technology

Linear Accelerators 2
4D-CT, Sim & Brachy Suite 2
HDR Brachytherapy 1
Intrabeam IORT 1
Mobetron IORT 1
Hyperthermia 2
CyberKnife VSI 1
TomoHD 1


Long Hospital  
Linear Accelerators 2
Linear Accelerators with SRS/SBRT 1
Perfexion Gamma Knife 1
Mobetron IORT 1
CT & Sim 1


Crocker Nuclear Lab.
UC Davis
Ocular Proton Beamline 1


Number of Procedures

Mt Zion Cancer Center  
EBRT/IMRT* 100/day
TomoHD 23/day
HDR 12/week
Prostate Implants 3/week
CyberKnife VSI 5/day
Hyperthermia 3/week
Intrabeam/IORT 3/month


Long Hospital  
EBRT/IMRT 20/day
Gamma Knife 2/day
IORT 3/month


Total patients 3,896
Total Treatments only 28,450/year



“Health is a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being, and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity."
~World Health Organization, 1948

June 24, 2014
The American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) has selected Joe Hsu, M.D. and Mack Roach, M.D., Ph.D. to receive the Fellow of ASTRO designation (FASTRO). This distinguished honor is being conferred upon both in recognition of their leadership and significant service to ASTRO and their contributions to the field of radiation oncology. Joe Hsu


December 12, 2012
Mack Roach, M.D., Ph.D., has been appointed by Washington as a member of the National Cancer Advisory Board. Congratulations on your recent appointment by the White House! Jeanne Quivey


August 21, 2012
UCSF Radiation Oncology department earned the prestigious ACR/ASTRO Accreditation.Jeanne Quivey

November 2, 2010
David Larson, M.D., Ph.D., FASTRO, has received the American Society for Radiation Oncology's most prestigious award, the Gold Medal.Jeanne Quivey

April 10, 2010
The Society of Thermal Medicine has awarded the 2010 J. Eugene Robinson Award to Chris J. Diederich, PhD.Jeanne Quivey

Jan 10, 2010
Jean Pouliot, PhD has been named head of the Physics division.

Oct 19, 2009
Jeanne Quivey, MD has been recently honored by UCSF for a head & neck research funds she received.Jeanne Quivey

Aug 24, 2007
Mack Roach III, MD has been named Chairman of the Radiation Oncology department.

Contact Info

an image
UCSF Mount-Zion
1600 Divisadero, Suite H1031
SF, CA 94143-1708

Phone: (415) 353-7175
Fax: (415) 353-9883

an image

UCSF Long Hospital
505 Parnassus Ave.,
SF, CA 94143-0226

Phone: (415) 353-8900
Fax: (415) 353-8679